Welcome to Riley Realm

Riley Cain was born in Dublin in 1968. Riley’s first published book, The Halloween House, was released in 2020. The following year, Riley published his first full novel for younger readers, Banshee Rising, inspired by his love of ghost stories and Irish folklore. In 2023, Riley published his third book, The Curse of Silver and Sunlight, Book One in the Benjamin Blake series. Have a look at each in more detail:

The Halloween House (Poetry, 2020)

Find it at:

About: Do you dare enter The Halloween House? Have you courage enough to Trick or Treat with the cast of ghastly characters who dwell there? From witches, werewolves, ghouls and ghosts, all are assembled in its moldy rooms to offer thrills and shivers – and quite a lot of laughs. For the ‘spooktacular’ month of October, thirty-one tales crammed with ghostly fun dare you to book a seat on the Fright Flight; enter the The Witches’ Broomstick Race, fight vampires with fearless Gran Helsing, and ride with The Phantom Highwayman. Listen for the whistle of The Devil’s Locomotive as you set sail on midnight waters with The Ghost Pirates. And if you should be tempted by A Shortcut Through the Graveyard, we guarantee, you will only do it once! Haunted by creatures such as the dancing Manky Franky Twinkle Toes and Dexter Blood, The Handyman from Hell, The Halloween House offers a wealth of rotten rhymes for the bravest readers. One tale each night for the foulest, freakiest, fun-filled Halloween ever.

Banshee Rising (Young Adults, 2021)

Find it at:

About: She sees ghosts. Everywhere. All the time. It’s a pain. Caitlyn never asked to see floating nuns, dark highwaymen and phantom warriors. She did not ask to have different-coloured eyes or be attracted to the haunted ‘Magic Man’ Danny from school. But her gift is undeniable, forcing Caitlyn to share her life with a host of quirky spirits as she tries to navigate a ‘normal’ day of bullies, boys, and Gran’s bad cooking. And then Professor Sackimum Brody steps into her life and nothing will be the same again. Mortal yet mysterious, the Professor seems to know far more about Caitlyn and her lost parents than he reveals, even as he guides her to understand the secret of her gift. When at last he offers a glimpse into a deeper realm, one where an ancient evil is stirring, Caitlyn is plunged towards an impossible truth and a threat to her worlds. To defeat what is rising from Ireland’s haunted heart, Caitlyn McCabe must face an adventure that is, literally, life and death.

The Curse of Silver and Sunlight: Benjamin Blake Book | Benjamin Blake Series, Book One (Young Adults, 2023)

Find it at:

About: A witch’s whispered promise. A book of wicked spells. A band of rebellious vampires, and a battle to control dark magic. Rural Essex, 1645 – a time of sorcery and civil war. When 15-year-old Benjamin Blake falls victim to a witch’s fatal prophecy, death comes creeping in. The only chance for survival comes with a price: the curse of silver and sunlight. Banished from the daytime world forever, Benjamin joins vampires Juno, Darach, Varney, and Brill, as they flee the clutches of evil enchanter Adefina Corvus. Hopes of freedom lie in a stolen book of spells, ready to offer power to whoever can decipher its coded text. None but Adefina has ever succeeded. The grimoire’s secrets must be revealed if Benjamin and his friends are to escape England’s most wicked witch. Benjamin is about to open its ghastly pages. But Adefina is coming, murdering her way back to her precious book. The chase is on!

1 thought on “Welcome to Riley Realm”

Leave a Reply